Jump to main content


O’Mahony Returns To Lead Munster Against Leinster

O’Mahony Returns To Lead Munster Against Leinster

As one of five changes for Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO12 showdown with Leinster, Peter O’Mahony returns to the Munster team and resumes his role as captain.

Showing no ill-effects from his return to competitive action last weekend, flanker O’Mahony is one of three personnel changes to the pack with Niall Scannell and John Ryan both returning to the front row. 

Two positional switches in the pack see Donnacha Ryan move to number 4, partnered by Billy Holland who reverts to the second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the backs, Rory Scannell has successfully rehabbed the neck injury he sustained against Cardiff Blues in round 2. He start alongside Keith Earls in the centre for the first time this season. The final change sees Ronan O’Mahony start on the left wing.

Should he feature from the bench on Saturday night, Robin Copeland will make his first appearance of the season, while also named among the replacements is Jack O’Donoghue who returns to action following a neck injury picked up in the recent win over Edinburgh.

Tickets for this weekend’s eagerly-awaited interprovincial derby at the Aviva Stadium – the home of Irish Rugby – can be purchased online here.

MUNSTER (v Leinster): Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Keith Earls, Rory Scannell, Ronan O’Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Donnacha Ryan, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Robin Copeland, Jack O’Donoghue, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Jaco Taute.