Jump to main content


Bowe Back On The Right Wing For Ulster

Bowe Back On The Right Wing For Ulster

Tommy Bowe will make his first start in six months as Ulster travel to Galway on Friday night to take on Connacht in round 6 of the GUINNESS PRO12 (kick-off 7.35pm).

Tommy Bowe played the final 20 minutes of last Saturday’s 9-7 victory over the Ospreys at Kingspan Stadium, and director of rugby Les Kiss has rewarded him with a place on the right wing this week.

Charles Piutau and Franco van der Merwe are ruled out following injuries picked up against the Ospreys so both will sit out this week along with Ruan Pienaar, who is rested as Kiss continues to manage his playing resources during an intense October schedule that will see Ulster play back-to-back Champions Cup fixtures.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Bowe will be joined in the back-three by Craig Gilroy and Jared Payne, who will captain the side from full-back. Darren Cave retains his place in midfield where he is joined by Louis Ludik, who is enjoying a fantastic run of form so far this season.

Paddy Jackson, who kicked all of Ulster’s points last weekend (including the late penalty to win the game), will once again be joined by Paul Marshall at half-back.

Up front, Callum Black comes into the front row alongside Rory Best and former Connacht prop Rodney Ah You. Robbie Diack and Peter Browne will start together in the second row, while Clive Ross comes in at openside flanker to link up with Iain Henderson and Roger Wilson in the back row.

Rob Herring, Andrew Warwick, Ross Kane, Kieran Treadwell and Sean Reidy will provide the replacement forward cover, while Dave Shanahan, Brett Herron and Robert Lyttle are the back-line options on the bench.

ULSTER (v Connacht): Jared Payne (capt); Tommy Bowe, Louis Ludik, Darren Cave, Craig Gilroy; Paddy Jackson, Paul Marshall; Callum Black, Rory Best, Rodney Ah You, Robbie Diack, Peter Browne, Iain Henderson, Clive Ross, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Andrew Warwick, Ross Kane, Kieran Treadwell, Sean Reidy, Dave Shanahan, Brett Herron, Robert Lyttle.