Jump to main content


Leinster Confirm Squad For Champions Cup

Leinster Confirm Squad For Champions Cup

The Leinster squad for this season’s European Champions Cup, which kicks off next week, has been announced.

Leinster’s European campaign begins at home at the RDS Arena on Saturday, October 15, with Castres Olympique the visitors. The French side currently sit in ninth spot in the Top 14 table, with three wins, one draw and three defeats from the opening seven rounds.

However, only three teams have scored more points and more tries than Castres in the Top 14 so far this season. Argentinian out-half Benjamin Urdapilleta has been a key man for Castres, supplying 95 of their 179 points so far in the French league.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Purchase tickets for Leinster v Castres at the RDS.

After Castres, Leinster travel to face Montpellier – currently fourth in the Top 14 table. Montpellier boast one of the best defences in the Top 14, conceding just 124 points (a league best) and 10 tries (tied best with Castres and Toulouse) in their opening seven matches.

After the European break, Leo Cullen’s men face a familiar foe in back-to-back games in December. Leinster will travel to Franklin’s Gardens to face Northampton Saints on Friday, December 9 before welcoming the Aviva Premiership side to the Aviva Stadium the following weekend.

Tickets for Leinster v Northampton Saints at the Aviva Stadium go on sale next week. To be the first to know when tickets go on sale for Leinster v Saints, sign up to receive the Leinster eZine.


Backs (16) – Adam Byrne, Joey Carbery *, Jamison Gibson Park, Robbie Henshaw, Dave Kearney, Rob Kearney, Zane Kirchner, Cathal Marsh, Nick McCarthy *, Fergus McFadden, Luke McGrath, Isa Nacewa, Rory O’Loughlin *, Noel Reid, Garry Ringrose, Jonathan Sexton.

Forwards (25) – Michael Bent, Bryan Byrne, Jack Conan, Sean Cronin, Peter Dooley, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Jamie Heaslip, Mick Kearney, Dan Leavy, Mike McCarthy, Jack McGrath, Ross Molony, Jordi Murphy, Ian Nagle, Sean O’Brien, Andrew Porter *, Mike Ross, Rhys Ruddock, Dominic Ryan, Richardt Strauss, Devin Toner, James Tracy, Hayden Triggs, Josh van der Flier.

* = Leinster Academy 

The new Leinster European jersey, created by Canterbury, is on sale now from Life Style Sports.