Jump to main content


Munster Hand First Start To Centre Bohane

Munster Hand First Start To Centre Bohane

Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus has made five personnel changes for Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO12 round 4 encounter with Edinburgh at Thomond Park (kick-off 3pm). Centre Cian Bohane is set to make his first competitive start for the province.

Cian Bohane’s inclusion in the starting line-up sees the Corkman form a brand new centre partnership with returning Ireland international Keith Earls who has made a speedy recovery from the tight hamstring that saw him withdrawn before last weekend’s game in Newport.

Elsewhere, Dave Kilcoyne will make his first start of the season in the front row, while the return of Dave O’Callaghan at blindside flanker sees captain Billy Holland – the PRO12’s leading tackler so far this season – revert to the second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The final change comes in the back-three with Ian Keatley pencilled in to start at full-back. One of only three players to have scored in excess of 1000 points in the PRO12 (1266 points), Keatley needs just five points to reach 1000 points for Munster across all competitions.

Should he appear off the bench, recent Munster Academy graduate and Ireland Sevens international Alex Wootton will make his first competitive appearance for the province.

Successfully rehabbing a neck injury, prop Stephen Archer is included in the matchday squad for the first time this season.

Tickets will be available to purchase at the stadium on Saturday. Adult tickets from €;20 and Family tickets from €;40 (two adults & two juniors) can also be purchased online via Ticketmaster, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, or by calling 0818 719 300.

MUNSTER (v Edinburgh): Ian Keatley; Darren Sweetnam, Keith Earls, Cian Bohane, Ronan O’Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (capt), Dave O’Callaghan, Jack O’Donoghue, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Donnacha Ryan, Conor Oliver, Duncan Williams, Dan Goggin, Alex Wootton.