Jump to main content


Sexton Returns As Leinster Make Six Changes

Sexton Returns As Leinster Make Six Changes

Ahead of Friday’s GUINNESS PRO12 round 4 showdown with the Ospreys at the RDS (kick-off 7.35pm), Leinster head coach Leo Cullen announced his team after today’s Captain’s Run at the match venue.

Leo Cullen has made six personnel changes to the side that accounted for Edinburgh at BT Murrayfield last Friday, with two in the backs and a further four changes in the pack.

Zane Kirchner continues in the number 15 jersey with Isa Nacewa captaining the province once again from the right wing. Dave Kearney is selected on the left. 

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the centre Noel Reid and Garry Ringrose are selected to start together for the fourth game in a row, however there are two changes at half-back. Luke McGrath gets the nod at scrum half and Jonathan Sexton makes his first appearance of the campaign at number 10 having recovered from shoulder surgery.

In the pack, there are two changes in the front row with Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong coming in, while Sean Cronin continues at hooker. 

Mick Kearney comes into the second row having lined out for Clontarf in the Ulster Bank League last weekend. He will partner Devin Toner.

There is one final change to the forwards as Josh van der Flier starts at openside flanker with Jordi Murphy and number 8 Jamie Heaslip completing the line-up. 

There is also a welcome return from injury for Rhys Ruddock who is involved in a matchday squad for the first time this season from the bench. 

Over 12,000 tickets have been sold for Leinster v Ospreys so far but due to the Dublin Bus strike, supporters are reminded to plan their journeys accordingly and to expect more traffic than normal. 

The DART and the LUAS are still in operation, as are Bus Éireann services, and if you are driving to the game the Simmonscourt car park is the best option. 

Tickets will be available for sale from the Ticketmaster office open from 6.05pm inside the Anglesea Road gate and they are also available from leinsterrugby.ie/tickets.

LEINSTER (v Ospreys): Zane Kirchner; Isa Nacewa (capt), Garry Ringrose, Noel Reid, Dave Kearney; Jonathan Sexton, Luke McGrath; Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Mick Kearney, Jordi Murphy, Josh van der Flier, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: James Tracy, Jack McGrath, Mike Ross, Ross Molony, Rhys Ruddock, Dan Leavy, Jamison Gibson Park, Joey Carbery.