Jump to main content


Ulster Make Six Changes For Treviso Tie

Ulster Make Six Changes For Treviso Tie

Ulster director of rugby Les Kiss has named his team for the GUINNESS PRO12 round 2 trip to Benetton Treviso on Saturday evening (kick-off 6.05pm local time/5.05pm Irish time).

The starting line-up features six changes from the side that took to the pitch in the opening round victory over the Newport Gwent Dragons last Friday.

Robert Lyttle has been rewarded for his eye-catching appearance as a replacement against the Dragons – the 19-year-old grabbed a brace of tries – with a starting berth on the right wing. Summer signing Kieran Treadwell will make his first competitive start for Ulster when he partners Franco van der Merwe in the second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Rob Herring will again captain the province from hooker, combining in the front row with the recalled Kyle McCall and Rodney Ah You, the latter having completed the return-to-play guidelines following a delayed onset concussion in the final pre-season outing against Northampton Saints.

The back row trio of Clive Ross, Sean Reidy and Roger Wilson, which performed so effectively last week, have all been retained, while Ruan Pienaar, the man-of-the-match against the Welsh outfit, will once again line out alongside Brett Herron at half back.

Stuart Olding, making his 50th appearance for Ulster, will shift from outside to inside centre and will be joined in midfield by fellow Ireland international Luke Marshall, while Lyttle is included in the back-three with fellow try scorer from last week, Jacob Stockdale, and the returning Louis Ludik.

On the bench, John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Ross Kane, Peter Browne and Robbie Diack will cover the forward positions, while Stuart McCloskey, Darren Cave and Angus Lloyd, who is also in line for a competitive debut, are included as the back-line options.

ULSTER (v Benetton Treviso): Louis Ludik; Robert Lyttle, Luke Marshall, Stuart Olding, Jacob Stockdale; Brett Herron, Ruan Pienaar; Kyle McCall, Rob Herring (capt), Rodney Ah You, Kieran Treadwell, Franco van der Merwe, Clive Ross, Sean Reidy, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Ross Kane, Peter Browne, Robbie Diack, Angus Lloyd, Stuart McCloskey, Darren Cave.