Jump to main content


Leinster Hand First Start To Out-Half Carbery

Leinster Hand First Start To Out-Half Carbery

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has named his first team of the new GUINNESS PRO12 season as the province get ready to host Benetton Treviso at the RDS on Friday (kick-off 7.35pm).

Joey Carbery will make his first start at number 10 having made his Leinster debut last season off the bench away to Glasgow Warriors in March. Luke McGrath will captain the side for the second time in his career from scrum half. It will be the first time for the former St. Michael’s College pupil to lead the team out at the RDS.

Elsewhere in the back-line, Rob Kearney starts at full-back and is joined in the back-three by 31-times capped Springbok Zane Kirchner and Fergus McFadden on the wings. 

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Noel Reid and Garry Ringrose will get an opportunity to impress from 12 and 13 having last started together in the centre last November against the Scarlets in a 19-15 win.

In the pack there is a competitive return for Cian Healy after nearly five months out with knee and neck injuries. Bryan Byrne makes his first GUINNESS PRO12 start since last October, while Michael Bent features on the opposite side of the scrum at tighthead. 

Ross Molony and Mike McCarthy pair up in the second row and Dominic Ryan, Josh van der Flier and Dan Leavy start together in the back row after impressing in the province’s three pre-season friendlies. 

Should Leo Cullen bring them on off the bench, there will be full Leinster debuts for former Hurricane Jamison Gibson Park at scrum half and Academy pair Andrew Porter and Rory O’Loughlin. 

Tickets for the game are still available online here or can be purchased at the ground from Ticketmaster from 6.05pm. Finally, supporters are asked to use public transport if at all possible. 

LEINSTER (v Benetton Treviso): Rob Kearney; Zane Kirchner, Garry Ringrose, Noel Reid, Fergus McFadden; Joey Carbery, Luke McGrath (capt); Cian Healy, Bryan Byrne, Michael Bent, Ross Molony, Mike McCarthy, Dominic Ryan, Josh van der Flier, Dan Leavy.

Replacements: James Tracy, Andrew Porter, Mike Ross, Hayden Triggs, Jordi Murphy, Jamison Gibson Park, Cathal Marsh, Rory O’Loughlin.