Jump to main content


Ringrose And Van Der Flier To Start For Leinster

Ringrose And Van Der Flier To Start For Leinster

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has announced the starting line-up and extended squad to take on Gloucester in the second Bank of Ireland pre-season friendly at Tallaght Stadium on Saturday (kick-off 3pm).

There is some continuity from the Leinster team announced last weekend in the win over Ulster, with five of the backs and four of the forwards again named to start.

Recent arrival Niall Morris will get another chance to impress from full-back. Adam Byrne, a try scorer from the Ulster game, features on the right wing and fellow UCD clubman Barry Daly is on the left. 

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Tom Daly will wear the number 12 jersey for the second week in a row but will be joined this weekend by Garry Ringrose who makes his first appearance of the pre-season run in the outside centre position. 

Nick McCarthy gets another run from scrum half and he is joined by another former St. Michael’s College pupil in Cathal Marsh at number 10. 

Props Peter Dooley and Michael Bent will again start at loosehead and tighthead respectively with hooker Bryan Byrne looking to build on his 40-minute second half performance last week. Ian Nagle makes his first start in a Leinster jersey, pairing up in the second row with Hayden Triggs. 

In the back row Jack Conan is once again selected as captain with Josh Murphy making his first start for Leinster alongside Josh van der Flier who made a successful return from ankle surgery last weekend. 

Similar to the match in Navan against Ulster, Leinster are likely to make a number of changes at half-time and 15 replacements have been named.

Leinster face Gloucester at Tallaght Stadium on Saturday afternoon (kick-off 3pm), with tickets available here from €;15 (€;5 for children).

LEINSTER (v Gloucester): Niall Morris; Adam Byrne, Garry Ringrose, Tom Daly, Barry Daly; Cathal Marsh, Nick McCarthy; Peter Dooley, Bryan Byrne, Michael Bent, Ian Nagle, Hayden Triggs, Josh Murphy, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan (capt).

Replacements: James Tracy, Sean McNulty, Andrew Porter, Jeremy Loughman, Vakh Abdaladze, Ross Molony, Dominic Ryan, Dan Leavy, Peadar Timmins, Charlie Rock, Joey Carbery, Ross Byrne, Fergus McFadden, Zane Kirchner, Rory O’Loughlin.