Jump to main content


Conan To Lead Leinster Against Ulster

Conan To Lead Leinster Against Ulster

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has named his team for the first Bank of Ireland pre-season friendly against Ulster in Navan RFC on Saturday (kick-off 3pm).

Jack Conan will captain Leinster in Saturday’s match, flanked in the back row by Dominic Ryan and Dan Leavy.

Niall Morris will make his first appearance in a Leinster shirt since his try-scoring start against the Scarlets back in March 2011. He starts at full-back in a back-three with UCD clubmen and Ireland Sevens internationals Adam Byrne and Barry Daly.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Byrne, who is in his first senior year out of the Academy, made four appearances in the GUINNESS PRO12 last season, scoring two tries. Ireland Sevens captain Tom Daly will start in the centre alongside Rory O’Loughlin, and Ross Byrne and Nick McCarthy combine at half-back.

The Leinster front row to face Ulster boasts Ireland-capped prop Michael Bent, as well as Peter Dooley and James Tracy – the two combined making 38 appearances last season in the PRO12 and Champions Cup.

The second row is a blend of youth and experience with Ross Molony paired with Hayden Triggs (soon to be joined at the province by fellow Maori All Black Jamison Gibson-Park, fresh from a Super Rugby final win with the Hurricanes).

Josh van der Flier, named among the list of 15 replacements, could make a return from an ankle injury that saw him miss the end of last season. Fellow Ireland international Fergus McFadden is also named on the bench, as well as experienced Springbok back Zane Kirchner.

The interprovincial clash in Navan RFC could be the first opportunity for supporters to see new recruit Ian Nagle in action in a Leinster shirt, as well as Ireland Under-20 props Andrew Porter and Vakh Abdaladze.

Tickets for the match in Navan RFC are on sale from €;10. Tickets can also be purchased locally from the Navan RFC clubhouse.

LEINSTER (v Ulster): Niall Morris; Adam Byrne, Rory O’Loughlin, Tom Daly, Barry Daly; Ross Byrne, Nick McCarthy; Peter Dooley, James Tracy, Michael Bent, Ross Molony, Hayden Triggs, Dominic Ryan, Dan Leavy, Jack Conan (capt).

Replacements (from): Bryan Byrne, Sean McNulty, Andrew Porter, Vakh Abdaladze, Ian Nagle, Peadar Timmins, Josh van der Flier, Josh Murphy, Luke McGrath, Charlie Rock, Joey Carbery, Cathal Marsh, Zane Kirchner, Fergus McFadden, Billy Dardis.