Jump to main content


Ulster Confirm Senior Squad For 2016/17 Campaign

Ulster Confirm Senior Squad For 2016/17 Campaign

The Ulster management team have confirmed the province’s senior playing squad for next season, with 37 fully-contracted players and 12 development players included.

Of the 49 players named in the panel, 43 are Irish-qualified and 30 have progressed through Ulster’s player development pathway. The squad includes 23 players capped at international level.

Commenting on the squad for the upcoming season, Ulster’s director of rugby Les Kiss said: “At the centre of our squad are young Ulstermen who represent the core identity of our rugby programme and culture. The opportunity for young players from Ulster schools and clubs to aspire to be part of our Academy programme and progress to a professional contract with Ulster is such an integral pillar of our future.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Bryn Cunningham, our operations director, has done a fantastic job in ensuring we sign and retain the best players possible that add value to our Ulster squad. Importantly this includes the retention of our highly talented home-grown players. 

“Combined with this essential core group is the welcome and vital addition of world class foreign players such as All Black utility back Charles Piutau and Springbok back rower Marcel Coetzee. The wonderful contribution to our Ulster Rugby community by Ruan Pienaar, Franco van der Merwe, Wiehahn Herbst and Louis Ludik has reaped significant benefits both on and off the field. 

“Along with Piutau and Coetzee, Bryn’s great work has resulted in the signings of newcomers Rodney Ah You (Ireland-capped tighthead prop), Kieran Treadwell (second row from Harlequins), Brett Herron (out-half from Bath) and Angus Lloyd (scrum half from Dublin University) (pictured below), all of whom are exciting prospects that are qualified to play for Ireland.

“Over recent seasons we have continued to find Irish-qualified players from other regions such as Sean Reidy, Alan O’Connor, Clive Ross, Pete Browne and Johnny McPhillips who were keen to join our Ulster family.

“Our coaching team is working hard to grow and develop our players to ensure that we are continuing to improve our game and build our strength in depth.

“Our rugby programme is continuing to prove effective in providing players ready for International duty, as witnessed this season. Kieran Campbell and the Hughes Insurance Academy staff also play a critical role in nurturing our emerging talent and we will see the benefits of that in the coming years.”

The majority of the Ulster squad will commence pre-season training next Monday (June 27).


– Players developed through the Hughes Insurance Academy or Ulster club system are marked with *, internationals are highlighted in bold, and development players are in italics.

Rodney Ah You
John Andrew *
Mark Best *
Rory Best *
Callum Black
Tommy Bowe *
Peter Browne
Darren Cave *
Marcell Coetzee
Robbie Diack
John Donnan *
Lorcan Dow *
Craig Gilroy *
Iain Henderson *
Chris Henry *
Wiehahn Herbst
Rob Herring
Brett Herron
Paddy Jackson *
Conor Joyce *
Angus Lloyd
Louis Ludik
Ricky Lutton *
Luke Marshall *
Paul Marshall *
Kyle McCall *
Stuart McCloskey *
Johnny McPhillips *
Stephen Mulholland *
Johnny Murphy *
Peter Nelson *
Alan O’Connor *
Stuart Olding *
Jared Payne
Ruan Pienaar
Charles Piutau 
Matthew Rea *
Sean Reidy
Clive Ross
David Shanahan *
Johnny Simpson *
Jacob Stockdale *
Kieran Treadwell
Andrew Trimble *
Dan Tuohy
Franco van der Merwe
Andrew Warwick *
Roger Wilson *
Sam Windsor