Jump to main content


McKeon Comes In For Connacht’s Semi-Final Clash With Glasgow

McKeon Comes In For Connacht’s Semi-Final Clash With Glasgow

Following this morning’s Captain’s Run, Connacht head coach Pat Lam has named his team to take on Glasgow Warriors in the sold-out GUINNESS PRO12 semi-final at the Sportsground on Saturday (kick-off 6.30pm).

Galway man Eoin McKeon comes into the back row and is the only change to the side that played against the same opposition in round 22 a fortnight ago.

John Muldoon captains the side from the base of the scrum in what will be the Portumna man’s 274th game for the province.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The back-line remains unchanged with Bundee Aki, a try scorer from the last game, and Ireland international Robbie Henshaw retained in midfield. Niyi Adeolokun, Connacht’s Player of the Month for April, and the league’s top try scorer Matt Healy line out on the wings.

Andrew Browne is brought into the westerners’ matchday squad and joins Sean O’Brien among the replacement forwards.

Commenting on the province’s maiden league semi-final appearance, Pat Lam said: “We are under no illusions when it comes to the challenge we face against the defending champions Glasgow who are stacked with players with plenty of experience of Test match and knockout rugby.

“We know they will be much stronger than they were two weeks ago but if we channel our physicality and the excitement into our game, we will be able to meet that challenge head on.

“It’s an exciting time for everyone involved in Connacht Rugby as we head into our first ever PRO12 semi-final. The reason we’ve had such a good record at home this season is the special atmosphere generated by our supporters and we’re all looking to give them another special day to remember in our last home game of the season.”

CONNACHT (v Glasgow Warriors): Tiernan O’Halloran; Niyi Adeolokun, Robbie Henshaw, Bundee Aki, Matt Healy; AJ MacGinty, Kieran Marmion; Ronan Loughney, Tom McCartney, Finlay Bealham, Ultan Dillane, Aly Muldowney, Eoin McKeon, Jake Heenan, John Muldoon (capt).

Replacements: Dave Heffernan, JP Cooney, Rodney Ah You, Andrew Browne, Sean O’Brien, John Cooney, Shane O’Leary, Peter Robb.