Jump to main content


Zebo Hits 100-Cap Milestone For Munster

Zebo Hits 100-Cap Milestone For Munster

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has made just three changes to the team to face Connacht in round 20 of the GUINNESS PRO12 at the Sportsground on Saturday (kick-off 7.15pm), with Simon Zebo set to make his 100th provincial appearance.

The first of two changes to the pack comes in the front row with hooker Mike Sherry returning to start alongside James Cronin and Stephen Archer, while Donnacha Ryan and Billy Holland continue their partnership in the second row.

With Jack O’Donoghue coming into the back row at number 8 for the interprovincial clash, captain CJ Stander makes the positional switch to blindside flanker with Tommy O’Donnell remaining at openside.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The final switch sees Darren Sweetnam start on the right wing, joining Keith Earls and Munster’s latest centurion Simon Zebo in the back-three. Conor Murray and Johnny Holland continue at half-back as do Rory Scannell and Francis Saili in midfield.

Dave O’Callaghan (knee bruising) failed to come through full training this week, ruling him out of contention. Dave Foley (ankle) and Academy second row Sean McCarthy (knee) were ruled out earlier this week.

MUNSTER (v Connacht): Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Johnny Holland, Conor Murray; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer, Donnacha Ryan, Billy Holland, CJ Stander (capt), Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Robin Copeland, Jordan Coghlan, Tomas O’Leary, Ian Keatley, Andrew Conway.