Jump to main content


Ulster Welcome Back International Trio

Ulster Welcome Back International Trio

Ulster director of rugby Les Kiss has named his team for Friday night’s GUINNESS PRO12 derby match against Connacht at Kingspan Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm).

Les Kiss welcomes back his Ireland international trio of Rory Best, as captain, Andrew Trimble and Jared Payne who starts at full-back.

Due to injury and the return of the international players, there are five changes to the Ulster side that faced Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun Stadium last weekend.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Rob Herring makes way for Best who returns to the front row following Ireland’s Six Nations campaign. Callum Black retains his position at loosehead prop, as does Ricky Lutton at tighthead.

Peter Browne replaces the injured Alan O’Connor in the second row, partnering Franco van der Merwe. Iain Henderson will make his first home appearance since December in the back row, and he is joined by Chris Henry and Roger Wilson, who steps in for the injured Nick Williams.

Paddy Jackson and Ruan Pienaar continue their half-back partnership, Payne and Trimble are back to full fitness and they replace Stuart Olding and Rory Scholes respectively, while Stuart McCloskey continues to partner Luke Marshall in the centre.

Paul Marshall, Olding and Darren Cave will provide back-line cover. Herring, Kyle McCall, Bronson Ross, Robbie Diack and Sean Reidy are named as the forward replacements.

A limited number of tickets are still available – buy here. The interprovincial encounter in Belfast will be broadcast live on BBC 2 Northern Ireland and TG4.

ULSTER (v Connacht): Jared Payne; Andrew Trimble, Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Craig Gilroy; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Callum Black, Rory Best (capt), Ricky Lutton, Peter Browne, Franco van der Merwe, Iain Henderson, Chris Henry, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Kyle McCall, Bronson Ross, Robbie Diack, Sean Reidy, Paul Marshall, Stuart Olding, Darren Cave.