Jump to main content


O’Donnell And Foley On The Bench For Munster’s Treviso Trip

O’Donnell And Foley On The Bench For Munster’s Treviso Trip

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has made six changes to his team for Sunday’s GUINNESS PRO12 round 16 fixture away to Benetton Treviso (kick-off 3pm local time/2pm Irish time).

The first of three changes in the pack comes in the front row with hooker Mike Sherry returning to pack down between Dave Kilcoyne and John Ryan.

Mark Chisholm is another returnee to the starting line-up with the Australian partnering captain Billy Holland in the second row, and following his successful rehabilitation of a rib injury, Dave O’Callaghan comes in to join Jack O’Donoghue and number 8 Robin Copeland in the back row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There are three more switches across the back-line. Duncan Williams resumes his half-back partnership with Ian Keatley, and Francis Saili returns alongside Rory Scannell in the centre The New Zealander has completed his return-to-play protocols for a concussion sustained against the Ospreys in round 14.

Winger Gerhard van den Heever is the final alteration to the side that lost in Glasgow, with Darren Sweetnam and Andrew Conway remaining on the opposite wing and full-back respectively.

Ireland internationals Tommy O’Donnell and Dave Foley have been made available to the province for this weekend’s game in Italy and are included among the replacements.

Meanwhile, should he make an appearance from the bench, development prop Peter McCabe will make his first competitive appearance for the province. James Cronin reported a tight hamstring this week and was unavailable for selection.

MUNSTER (v Benetton Treviso): Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Gerhard van den Heever; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, John Ryan, Mark Chisholm, Billy Holland (capt), Jack O’Donoghue, Dave O’Callaghan, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Peter McCabe, Mario Sagario, Dave Foley, Tommy O’Donnell, Cathal Sheridan, Cian Bohane, David Johnston.