Jump to main content


Arnold And Marshall Take Centre Stage For Ulster

Arnold And Marshall Take Centre Stage For Ulster

Ulster director of rugby Les Kiss has named his team for the GUINNESS PRO12 trip to play Cardiff Blues at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park on Sunday (kick-off 2.30pm).

Paddy Jackson will captain the side and he will be partnered at half-back by influential Springbok scrum half Ruan Pienaar.
Sam Arnold and Luke Marshall will start together in midfield for the first time, with Craig Gilroy, Jacob Stockdale and Stuart Olding continuing in the back-three.
John Andrew, who made his first Ulster start against the Scarlets last Sunday, is retained at hooker and is joined in the front row by props Callum Black and Bronson Ross. Peter Browne and Franco van der Merwe will link up in the second row.
Nick Williams returns from injury to start at number 8, with Robbie Diack and Chris Henry operating as the other loose forwards.
Jonny Murphy, a debutant in last week’s match against the Scarlets, is in line to add a second cap after being named on the replacements bench.

Ricky Lutton and Sean Reidy, who both signed contract extensions earlier this week, are also included on the bench along with fellow forwards Kyle McCall and Roger Wilson, who won his 200th cap last time out. The reserve backs are Paul Marshall, Darren Cave and Rory Scholes.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

ULSTER (v Cardiff Blues): Stuart Olding; Craig Gilroy, Luke Marshall, Sam Arnold, Jacob Stockdale; Paddy Jackson (capt), Ruan Pienaar; Callum Black, John Andrew, Bronson Ross, Peter Browne, Franco van der Merwe, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Nick Williams.

Replacements: Jonny Murphy, Kyle McCall, Ricky Lutton, Roger Wilson, Sean Reidy, Paul Marshall, Darren Cave, Rory Scholes.