Jump to main content


Prop Black To Win 100th Ulster Cap

Prop Black To Win 100th Ulster Cap

The Ulster team has been named for Friday’s match against reigning GUINNESS PRO12 champions Glasgow Warriors at Kingspan Stadium (kick-off 7.30pm). Prop Callum Black will earn his 100th cap for the province.

Loosehead Callum Black joined Ulster from Worcester Warriors in 2011 and has racked up 99 appearances to date, including 13 this season.

Sam Windsor will make his competitive debut for Ulster after being selected at out-half by director of rugby Les Kiss. The 28-year-old replaces Ian Humphreys, who suffered a concussion in the 17-15 win over the Newport Gwent Dragons last weekend.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Stuart McCloskey will start in midfield alongside Darren Cave, facilitating Stuart Olding’s switch to full-back. Jacob Stockdale and Craig Gilroy will line out on the wings, with Ruan Pienaar continuing at scrum half.

The front row of Black, captain Rob Herring and Ricky Lutton remains unchanged from the Dragons encounter. Franco van der Merwe returns to the team after a well-earned rest last week. He will partner Alan O’Connor in the second row, while Robbie Diack, Sean Reidy and Nick Williams will form an explosive loose forward combination.

Chris Henry, who has not featured for Ulster since picking up a shoulder injury in December, is poised to make his return off the bench. John Andrew, Kyle McCall, Bronson Ross, Roger Wilson, Paul Marshall, Paddy Jackson and Sam Arnold complete the matchday 23.

A limited number of terrace tickets are still available for the Ulster v Glasgow Warriors match via www.ulsterrugby.com/buytickets.

ULSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Stuart Olding; Craig Gilroy, Darren Cave, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale; Sam Windsor, Ruan Pienaar; Callum Black, Rob Herring (capt), Ricky Lutton, Alan O’Connor, Franco van der Merwe, Robbie Diack, Sean Reidy, Nick Williams.

Replacements: John Andrew, Kyle McCall, Bronson Ross, Chris Henry, Roger Wilson, Paul Marshall, Paddy Jackson, Sam Arnold.