Jump to main content


European Debutant O’Connor Returns To Munster ‘A’ Side

European Debutant O’Connor Returns To Munster ‘A’ Side

Munster ‘A’ head coach Mick O’Driscoll makes just three changes to the team that suffered defeat to Yorkshire Carnegie in round 5 of the British & Irish Cup. Saturday sees the province bid for a quarter-final place when they welcome London Scottish to CBC Lansdowne, Cork (kick-off 2pm).

Following his European debut against Stade Francais last weekend, Academy loosehead Liam O’Connor returns to the Munster ‘A’ fold to start in the front row. Hooker Kevin O’Byrne also comes back into the starting line-up, with Peter McCabe continuing at tighthead.

In an otherwise unchanged pack, Shannon clubman Lee Nicholas and the Academy’s Sean McCarthy lineout together again in the second row, with the back row unit made up of Jordan Coghlan, Sean Doyle and captain Shane Buckley.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The final change comes on the left wing with Darren Sweetnam promoted to a starting position. Duncan Williams and Johnny Holland remain at half-back, while Cian Bohane and Dan Goggin pair up once more in midfield and Academy aces Stephen Fitzgerald and David Johnston feature on the right wing and at full-back respectively.

Should he be introduced off the bench on Saturday afternoon, Academy full-back/winger Steven McMahon will make his first British & Irish Cup appearance.

Munster ‘A’ v London Scottish tickets are available to purchase at the gate, and are priced as follows: adults €;10, juniors €;3, and family pack €;20 (two adults & two juniors). MRSC members and Ten-Year ticket holders have free entry on production of season tickets/membership cards.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v London Scottish): David Johnston; Stephen Fitzgerald, Dan Goggin, Cian Bohane, Darren Sweetnam; Johnny Holland, Duncan Williams; Liam O’Connor, Kevin O’Byrne, Peter McCabe, Lee Nicholas, Sean McCarthy, Jordan Coghlan, Sean Doyle, Shane Buckley (capt).

Replacements: Eddie Rossiter, Brian Scott, Ollie Lyons, Conor Oliver, Ryan Foley, Ned Hodson, Steven McMahon.