Jump to main content


Munster Make Three Changes For Stade Rematch

Munster Make Three Changes For Stade Rematch

In naming his team for Saturday’s European Champions Cup return encounter with Stade Francais at Thomond Park (kick-off 1pm), Munster head coach Anthony Foley has made three changes to the side that lost 27-7 in Paris.

The squad has been boosted by the news that Tommy O’Donnell, Donnacha Ryan and Jack O’Donoghue have all recovered from their respective knocks to take their place in the matchday 23.

One change in the front row sees Mario Sagario come in to make his first European start alongside Dave Kilcoyne and hooker Mike Sherry, while Dave Foley and Mark Chisholm continue in the second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Billy Holland is promoted to a start at blindside flanker this weekend with O’Donnell and captain CJ Stander again named at openside and number 8 respectively.

It is as you were in the half-backs and midfield with Conor Murray and Ian Keatley, and Rory Scannell and Francis Saili all featuring again in the province’s starting back-line.

The final personnel switch comes in the back-three with Ronan O’Mahony starting on the left wing. Keith Earls remains on the opposite flank with Simon Zebo making the move to full-back.

If sprung from the bench, Greencore Munster Academy prop Liam O’Connor will win his first senior cap for the province. The Ireland Under-20 international has featured heavily for Munster ‘A’ in this season’s British & Irish Cup, starting in three of the side’s four games. Hooker Kevin O’Byrne is also included among the replacements and will make his European debut if brought on.

On the injury front, Niall Scannell sustained a shoulder injury during yesterday’s squad session and will be monitored by the Munster medical staff across the coming days.

Over 18,000 tickets have now been sold for Saturday’s game between Munster and Stade. Tickets are available online here or at the ground on matchday. Tickets start from €;20 (adults), €;60 (family) and €;10 (student).

MUNSTER (v Stade Francais): Simon Zebo; Keith Earls, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Ronan O’Mahony; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, Mario Sagario, Dave Foley, Mark Chisholm, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander (capt).

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Liam O’Connor, John Ryan, Donnacha Ryan, Robin Copeland, Jack O’Donoghue, Tomas O’Leary, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino.