Jump to main content


Dillane To Start For Connacht Against Scarlets

Dillane To Start For Connacht Against Scarlets

Connacht head coach Pat Lam has named his team to face league leaders the Scarlets in Llanelli on Sunday (kick-off 2.30pm). There is just one change to the side that travelled to play Leinster on New Year’s Day.

Second row Ultan Dillane, fresh from his first involvement in the Ireland training camp on Sunday, rotates with Aly Muldowney.

Sunday’s GUINNESS PRO12 clash will make it eight appearances and six starts this season for the 22-year-old Dillane. He made his senior debut while still in the Connacht Academy last term.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Jack Carty and Kieran Marmion are retained at half-back while Niyi Adeolokun, a try scorer for Connacht at Parc y Scarlets last season, starts on the right wing with Matt Healy on the left.

Up front, John Muldoon, who this week signed up for his 14th season at the province, will captain the westerners. Jake Heenan, who made his seasonal debut last week after nearly 10 months on the sidelines, will start again at openside flanker.

Commenting on the team selection and this weekend’s trip to Wales, Pat Lam said: “While we were disappointed with the outcome last week against Leinster, there were a lot of positives we could take from the performance.

“We travel with the same squad to take on a strong Scarlets side on their home pitch this weekend. There are certain aspects of our game that we are looking to improve from last week.

“With a solid week’s training under our belts, we go with confidence knowing that if we add clinical execution to the work ethic already shown, we’ll have every chance of getting the points on offer.”

CONNACHT (v Scarlets): Tiernan O’Halloran; Niyi Adeolokun, Bundee Aki, Craig Ronaldson, Matt Healy; Jack Carty, Kieran Marmion; Finlay Bealham, Tom McCartney, Nathan White, Ultan Dillane, Andrew Browne, John Muldoon (capt), Jake Heenan, Eoghan Masterson.

Replacements: Dave Heffernan, Ronan Loughney, Rodney Ah You, Aly Muldowney, Sean O’Brien, Ian Porter, AJ MacGinty, Rory Parata.