Jump to main content


Cronin To Become Leinster’s Latest Centurion

Cronin To Become Leinster’s Latest Centurion

After training in UCD this morning, Leinster head coach Leo Cullen named his team to face Munster in Sunday’s GUINNESS PRO12 derby tie at Thomond Park (kick-off 5.15pm).

The game will mark a special moment for Ireland international Sean Cronin who will earn his 100th Leinster cap against his home province.

The Limerick man made two appearances for Munster before moving to Connacht where he made 65 appearances before moving to Leinster and making his debut in October 2011 against Edinburgh. He has scored 15 tries in his 99 games to date for Leinster.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Elsewhere, Nick McCarthy is in line to make his first league appearance for Leinster having come off the bench for his debut in last weekend’s European Champions Cup defeat to Toulon.

Zane Kirchner starts at full-back with Fergus McFadden recovering from a calf strain to take his place on the right wing and Isa Nacewa captaining the side from the left.

Luke Fitzgerald partners Garry Ringrose in the centre for the first time with Ringrose making only his second start in the number 13 jersey. Ian Madigan starts at out-half with Eoin Reddan getting the nod at scrum half.

Jack McGrath, Cronin and Tadhg Furlong start in the front row with Devin Toner and Tom Denton in the second row, while Dominic Ryan starts at blindside flanker, Jamie Heaslip continues at number 8 and Sean O’Brien making a welcome return from injury at openside.

For those Leinster supporters looking to travel to Thomond Park, there are only a few seats left on the same day bus service to Limerick organised by the OLSC. For anyone interested, please contact OLSC@leinsterrugby.ie for the Aircoach service that will leave Dublin city centre on Sunday afternoon and returns half an hour after the final whistle in Thomond Park.

LEINSTER (v Munster): Zane Kirchner; Fergus McFadden, Garry Ringrose, Luke Fitzgerald, Isa Nacewa (capt); Ian Madigan, Eoin Reddan; Jack McGrath, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Tom Denton, Dominic Ryan, Sean O’Brien, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: James Tracy, Cian Healy, Martin Moore, Ross Molony, Josh van der Flier, Nick McCarthy, Cathal Marsh, Dave Kearney.