Jump to main content


Three Changes Up Front For Munster

Three Changes Up Front For Munster

Munster complete their European Champions Cup back-to-back games against Leicester Tigers at Welford Road on Sunday (kick-off 5.15pm). The return fixture sees head coach Anthony Foley make three changes to the side that suffered a 31-19 home defeat last weekend.

All three changes are in the pack with hooker Mike Sherry and John Ryan joining James Cronin in the front row, while Australian Mark Chisholm starts in the second row with Donnacha Ryan.

An unchanged back-line sees Conor Murray and Ian Keatley continue at half-back, with Denis Hurley and Francis Saili in midfield and completing the back-three are Simon Zebo, Keith Earls and full-back Andrew Conway.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

With BJ Botha continuing to follow the return-to-play protocols for a concussion sustained last weekend, Uruguayan international Mario Sagario is named among the replacements in his first Champions Cup matchday squad.

Looking forward to facing Tigers again, Sherry, one of Munster’s second half try scorers last weekend, said: “As expected, Leicester were good across the park. At set piece they had a good lineout, scrum and maul and Ben Youngs at scrum half was a big threat like we knew he would be, so that made it all the more disappointing for us to concede his try.

“As regards our own performance, I think we played very well at times but didn’t finish off a lot of the opportunities that we created as well as presenting them opportunities. That’s not to take away from Leicester, any opportunity they had they took it.

“This weekend’s game will definitely be attritional. As a forward pack we’re hurting after last weekend’s result so we have to front up, take them on and deliver on Sunday.

“I remember watching them when I was younger and they’d never lose at Welford Road and they’re back to being very strong at home. That’s the challenge but it’s very exciting to have the chance to go over there and prove ourselves.”

MUNSTER (v Leicester Tigers): Andrew Conway; Keith Earls, Francis Saili, Denis Hurley, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, John Ryan, Mark Chisholm, Donnacha Ryan, Robin Copeland; Dave O’Callaghan, CJ Stander (capt).

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne, Mario Sagario, Dave Foley, Jack O’Donoghue, Tomas O’Leary, Rory Scannell, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino.