Jump to main content


Munster ‘A’ Make Five Changes For Ospreys Select Clash

Munster ‘A’ Make Five Changes For Ospreys Select Clash

Munster ‘A’ head coach Mick O’Driscoll has named his team to face the Ospreys Premiership Select in round 3 of the British & Irish Cup at Old Crescent RFC on Friday (kick-off 7.30pm).

Five changes are made to the side that defeated Yorkshire Carnegie in the previous round. The one alteration in the pack sees Munster Academy prop Liam O’Connor come into the front row alongside Kevin O’Byrne and Mario Sagario.

The second row combination of Academy player Sean McCarthy and captain Billy Holland is retained along with the all-senior back row unit of Jordan Coghlan, Sean Doyle and Shane Buckley.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Duncan Williams and Bill Johnston both return at half-back with Cian Bohane and Matt D’Arcy taking charge of the midfield for the third consecutive game. Wingers Darren Sweetnam and Gerhard van den Heever make their first starts of the current campaign with David Johnston continuing at full-back.

Cashel clubman Sean O’Connor and Cork Constitution’s Brendan Quinlan are again named among the replacements, while following his involvement with the Ireland Sevens team at the Dubai Men’s Sevens International Invitational tournament last week, Dan Goggin returns to the matchday squad.

Munster ‘A’ v Ospreys Premiership Select tickets are available at the ground on the night, priced at €;10 for adults, €;3 for juniors and €;20 for a family pack (two adults & two juniors). Munster Rugby Supporters Club members and ten-year ticket holders have free entry on production of season tickets/membership cards.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Ospreys Premiership Select): David Johnston; Gerhard van den Heever, Matt D’Arcy, Cian Bohane, Darren Sweetnam; Bill Johnston, Duncan Williams; Liam O’Connor, Kevin O’Byrne, Mario Sagario, Sean McCarthy, Billy Holland (capt), Jordan Coghlan, Sean Doyle, Shane Buckley.

Replacements: Brendan Quinlan, Rory Burke, Sean O’Connor, Conor Oliver, Cathal Sheridan, Dan Goggin, Stephen Fitzgerald.