Jump to main content


Ruddock To Lead Leinster Against Glasgow Warriors

Ruddock To Lead Leinster Against Glasgow Warriors

Ahead of the Captain’s Run in UCD this afternoon, Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has announced his starting line-up for Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO12 showdown with defending champions Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun Stadium (kick-off 3pm).

There are eight changes to the side that started last weekend’s 8-3 derby win over Ulster with a further two positional switches in the backs.

Rob Kearney is again selected to start from full-back, although he failed a late fitness test last week with Isa Nacewa filling in for the 67-times capped Ireland international.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Zane Kirchner continues on the right wing with Dave Kearney coming in on the left for only his second PRO12 appearance of the season.

Luke Fitzgerald, the PRO12 man-of-the-match against Ulster, moves from the left wing to inside centre for his 145th Leinster cap. Ben Te’o will line up alongside him in the number 13 jersey.

Ian Madigan shifts from the centre to out-half, with Eoin Reddan starting at scrum half for his 125th appearance in blue. Reddan came on after 31 minutes against Ulster for the injured Luke McGrath who is ruled out of the game with a medial ligament injury to his knee.

There is a completely new front row as Leo Cullen calls up three Ireland internationals in Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss and Martin Moore, while Tom Denton comes in to partner Mike McCarthy in the second row.

Rhys Ruddock and Josh van der Flier will start at blindside and openside flanker respectively and Jordi Murphy comes in at the base of the scrum. Ruddock will also captain the team for the first time this season as he closes in on 100 caps for the province.

LEINSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Rob Kearney; Zane Kirchner, Ben Te’o, Luke Fitzgerald, Dave Kearney; Ian Madigan, Eoin Reddan; Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss, Martin Moore, Tom Denton, Mike McCarthy, Rhys Ruddock (capt), Josh van der Flier, Jordi Murphy.

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Peter Dooley, Tadhg Furlong, Ross Molony, Dominic Ryan, Isaac Boss, Cathal Marsh, Garry Ringrose.