Jump to main content


Six Changes For Munster

Six Changes For Munster

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has made six changes to the team that beat Benetton Treviso in the Champions Cup for Saturday’s return to GUINNESS PRO12 action against Connacht at Thomond Park (kick-off 5.15pm).

Loosehead prop James Cronin will win his 50th Munster cap with Argentinian international Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino set to make his first start for the province.

The Ireland-capped Cronin is one of two changes in the front row with Niall Scannell making his first PRO12 start of the season at hooker, while BJ Botha continues at tighthead.

Donnacha Ryan again partners Mark Chisholm in an unchanged second row. In the back row, the return of Robin Copeland at number 8 sees captain CJ Stander switch to blindside flanker with Jack O’Donoghue remaining at openside.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Tomas O’Leary comes in to partner Ian Keatley at half-back, with Conor Murray nursing a bruised foot, and a positional change for Keith Earls sees him move back to midfield alongside Francis Saili who switches to the inside centre berth.

The final two alterations are in the back-three with Gonzalez Amorosino and the returning Gerhard van den Heever starting on the left and right wings respectively. Andrew Conway will make his fifth start at full-back this season.

Should he feature from the bench, UL Bohemians clubman Kevin O’Byrne will make his first PRO12 appearance of the current campaign.

Munster v Connacht tickets – adults (€;20), families from €;40 (two adults & two kids), juniors (€;7) – can be purchased online here, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Thomond Park and Irish Independent Park, or by calling 0818 719 300.

Tickets will also be available from the Ticketmaster van in Fan Zone Plaza at Thomond Park from 12pm on Saturday and from 3.15pm at the Thomond Park West Stand ticket booth.

Why not incorporate this game with a Champions Cup fixture and another PRO12 game of your choice (not including Leinster)? Munster Match Packs start from just €;45 and also save you 10% across the cost of all three tickets. Click here to start building yours.

MUNSTER (v Connacht): Andrew Conway; Gerhard van den Heever, Keith Earls, Francis Saili, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino; Ian Keatley, Tomas O’Leary; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, BJ Botha, Donnacha Ryan, Mark Chisholm, CJ Stander (capt), Jack O’Donoghue, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Dave Foley, Jordan Coghlan, Duncan Williams, Rory Scannell, Denis Hurley.