Jump to main content


Te’o And Fitzgerald Take Centre Stage For Leinster

Te’o And Fitzgerald Take Centre Stage For Leinster

The Leinster team to face Bath in round 2 of the European Champions Cup at the Recreation Ground on Saturday (kick-off 3.15pm) has been announced. There are eight personnel changes and two positional switches to the side that lost to Wasps.

Isa Nacewa returns from injury to captain Leinster from full-back, with Dave Kearney on the left wing and Fergus McFadden moving from outside centre to the back-three.

Ben Te’o and Luke Fitzgerald, who both missed last Sunday’s 33-6 loss to Wasps, return to start together in midfield for the second time this season.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There is also a change in the province’s half-back pairing as Isaac Boss comes in to replace Eoin Reddan at scrum half. Jonathan Sexton starts once again in the number 10 jersey.

Cian Healy and Sean Cronin come in for Jack McGrath and Richardt Strauss respectively in the front row. Mike Ross is Leinster’s starting tighthead for the third game in succession.

New Zealander Hayden Triggs will start in a European fixture for the first time, featuring alongside Devin Toner in the second row. In the back row, with Sean O’Brien ruled out, Rhys Ruddock comes in at blindside flanker with Jordi Murphy shifting to openside and Jamie Heaslip continuing at number 8.

LEINSTER (v Bath): Isa Nacewa (capt); Fergus McFadden, Ben Te’o, Luke Fitzgerald, Dave Kearney; Jonathan Sexton, Isaac Boss; Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Mike Ross, Devin Toner, Hayden Triggs, Rhys Ruddock, Jordi Murphy, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: James Tracy, Jack McGrath, Martin Moore, Dominic Ryan, Josh van der Flier, Luke McGrath, Ian Madigan, Zane Kirchner.