Jump to main content


Eight Changes Made To Ulster ‘A’ Team

Eight Changes Made To Ulster ‘A’ Team

Ulster ‘A’ head coach Alex Codling has made eight changes for Saturday’s British & Irish Cup round 2 encounter with Bedford Blues at Goldington Road (kick-off 2.30pm).

Four of those changes come in the back-line, with Dave Shanahan, Luke Marshall, Sam Arnold and Rory Scholes all involved despite missing last weekend’s impressive 30-5 home win over Bristol.

Hughes Insurance Academy players Johnny McPhillips (full-back) and Robert Lyttle (left wing) keep their places, as does Sam Windsor who will direct proceedings from out-half.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Willie Faloon retains the captaincy and will continue to operate at openside flanker. Sean Reidy is a newcomer to the team at number 8, while Clive Ross completes the back row. Lewis Stevenson joins Peter Browne in the second row, with Andrew Warwick and Jonny Simpson coming into the front row alongside hooker John Andrew.

Johnny Murphy, Ruaidhri Murphy and Bronson Ross will provide front row back-up, and Alan O’Connor and Stephen Mulholland cover the other forward positions. Paul Rowley and Ballymena centre Callum Patterson are the back-line replacements.

ULSTER ‘A’ (v Bedford Blues): Johnny McPhillips; Rory Scholes, Sam Arnold, Luke Marshall, Robert Lyttle; Sam Windsor, Dave Shanahan; Andrew Warwick, John Andrew, Jonny Simpson, Lewis Stevenson, Peter Browne, Clive Ross, Willie Faloon (capt), Sean Reidy.

Replacements: Johnny Murphy, Ruaidhri Murphy, Bronson Ross, Alan O’Connor, Stephen Mulholland, Paul Rowley, Callum Patterson.