Jump to main content


Munster Include Zebo And Ryan For Interpro Derby

Munster Include Zebo And Ryan For Interpro Derby

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has named his team for Friday’s interprovincial clash with Ulster at Thomond Park (kick-of 6pm). Returning Ireland internationals Simon Zebo and Donnacha Ryan are included in the matchday squad, with new signing Mario Sagario in line to make his first appearance for the province.

In total, Anthony Foley makes seven changes to the Munster side that lost away to the table-topping Scarlets last Friday night.

James Cronin and Mike Sherry come back in and join BJ Botha in the front row, while Dave Foley starts at number 4 for the first time this season with his second row partner Mark Chisholm continuing at 5.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the back row, captain CJ Stander makes the switch to blindside flanker and Jack O’Donoghue returns at openside with Robin Copeland reverting to number 8 for the much-anticipated encounter in Limerick.

After featuring twice off the bench in Munster’s most recent PRO12 outings, Tomas O’Leary will make his first start since returning to the province. The experienced Ireland scrum half partners Ian Keatley at half-back.

Francis Saili comes back in to start alongside Denis Hurley in the centre for the first time, while the final change comes in the back-three and sees the returning Simon Zebo start on the right wing. Gerhard van den Heever remains on the left wing with Andrew Conway, a try scorer in his last two games, continuing at full-back.

Having joined the province on a three-month contract, Uruguayan prop Mario Sagario could feature for the first time in Munster red after being named among the replacements. Donnacha Ryan, another returning player from the Rugby World Cup, is also on bench duty.

Munster v Ulster family terrace packs for €;40 and general tickets can be bought online here, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices in Thomond Park and Irish Independent Park or by calling 0818 719 300.

With the school mid-term break, Munster Rugby are getting into the spooky spirit of things with a free Halloween Fancy Dress party prior to kick-off in The Dugout Bar and Fanzone Plaza.

The party is free and open to all children under the age of 16 years and the Munster Rugby Supporters Club will be on hand with plenty of prizes up for grabs for best dressed and more.

This is sure to be a great night for all the family, so make sure to get dressed up and join all the fans at The Dugout Bar and Fanzone Plaza for Munster’s own ‘Night of the Living Red’!

MUNSTER (v Ulster): Andrew Conway; Simon Zebo, Francis Saili, Denis Hurley, Gerhard van den Heever; Ian Keatley, Tomas O’Leary; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, BJ Botha, Dave Foley, Mark Chisholm, CJ Stander (capt), Jack O’Donoghue, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, John Ryan, Mario Sagario, Donnacha Ryan, Jordan Coghlan, Duncan Williams, Rory Scannell, Ronan O’Mahony.