Jump to main content


Moore And Ruddock Included In Leinster Selection

Moore And Ruddock Included In Leinster Selection

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has announced the team to face the Newport Gwent Dragons in round 3 of the GUINNESS PRO12 at the RDS on Saturday (kick-off 2.30pm).

There are two changes in personnel from the side that defeated Cardiff Blues 23-15 at the Ballsbridge venue last time out.

Lining out at tighthead prop, Martin Moore returns from injury for his first game since last April’s European Champions Cup semi-final against Toulon, while Isaac Boss makes his first start of the campaign at scrum half having come off the bench against Edinburgh and Cardiff.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The rest of Leinster’s starting line-up is unchanged with a back-three of Isa Nacewa, who also captains the side, and wingers Fergus McFadden and Garry Ringrose. Noel Reid and Ben Te’o once again form the centre partnership with the aforementioned Boss partnering Cathal Marsh at half-back.

Michael Bent starts at loosehead prop, with Aaron Dundon at hooker and Moore (pictured below) on the other side of the scrum. In the second row Ross Molony makes only his second ever RDS start, with the vastly experienced Mike McCarthy beside him for his 54th Leinster appearance and 294th cap in professional club rugby.

In the back row, Ireland internationals Dominic Ryan and Jack Conan are once again joined by Josh van der Flier, who starts at openside following his man-of-the-match display against Cardiff.

James Tracy and Rhys Ruddock are included in a matchday squad for the first time this season. Ruddock is poised to make his first appearance for Leinster since last March when he played 80 minutes against the Scarlets.

Tickets for Saturday’s game are on sale from ticketmaster.ie and will be available from the ticket office on the Anglesea Road gate from 1pm.

LEINSTER (v Newport Gwent Dragons): Isa Nacewa (capt); Fergus McFadden, Ben Te’o, Noel Reid, Garry Ringrose; Cathal Marsh, Isaac Boss; Michael Bent, Aaron Dundon, Martin Moore, Ross Molony, Mike McCarthy, Dominic Ryan, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan.

Replacements: James Tracy, Peter Dooley, Jamie Hagan, Rhys Ruddock, Dan Leavy, Luke McGrath, Ross Byrne, Cian Kelleher.