Jump to main content


First PRO12 Starts For Munster Quartet

First PRO12 Starts For Munster Quartet

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has named his team to play the Ospreys at the Liberty Stadium on Sunday (kick-off 2.30pm). Tyler Bleyendaal, Mark Chisholm and Francis Saili will join Academy player Stephen Fitzgerald in making their first PRO12 starts.

Tyler Bleyendaal made his debut for the province against Treviso last weekend when coming off the bench in the second half, and this week he makes his first PRO12 start alongside Cathal Sheridan at half-back.

In total, Anthony Foley makes eight changes to the starting line-up for the round 2 tie in Swansea. In the front row, returning Ireland prop Dave Kilcoyne makes his first appearance of the season, linking up with hooker Mike Sherry and Stephen Archer who is promoted from the bench for his 99th appearance for the province.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Munster’s newest signing Mark Chisholm will make his debut when he lines out with Dave Foley in the second row, while the only change to the back row sees Robin Copeland introduced at number 8.

Francis Saili has successfully completed all of his return-to-play protocols and makes his PRO12 debut. He will combine with Rory Scannell in the centre. Scannell’s Academy colleague Stephen Fitzgerald is another player to make his competitive debut, with the 19-year-old named on the left wing and Andrew Conway and stand-in captain Felix Jones completing the back-three.

In the replacements, hooker Duncan Casey is included in his first matchday squad of the season, while Jordan Coghlan is in line to make his Munster PRO12 debut if sprung from the bench.

MUNSTER (v Ospreys): Felix Jones (capt); Andrew Conway, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Stephen Fitzgerald; Tyler Bleyendaal, Cathal Sheridan; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer, Mark Chisholm, Dave Foley, Dave O’Callaghan, Jack O’Donoghue, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, James Cronin, BJ Botha, Jordan Coghlan, CJ Stander, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, David Johnston.