Jump to main content


Munster Make Nine Changes For Visit Of London Irish

Munster Make Nine Changes For Visit Of London Irish

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has named his side to face London Irish in the Kearys Renault Series at Irish Independent Park on Friday night (kick-off 7pm).

For the second week in a row, Anthony Foley has made nine changes to his starting line-up in further utilising the pre-season games to trial various combinations.

In the pack John Ryan joins Mike Sherry and Stephen Archer in the front row, while John Madigan returns to partner Dave Foley in the second row. Ireland international Foley is the only forward to start in all three pre-season games.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

This week Jordan Coghlan starts at openside flanker, joining Dave O’Callaghan and CJ Stander in the back row, with the South African captaining the province once again at number 8.

For the third successive week Foley introduces a different starting out-half with the 18-year-old Bill Johnston making his first senior start. He will have Cathal Sheridan for company at half-back.

Further changes to the back-line see Francis Saili coming in to make his first start for the province, while Emerging Ireland backs Rory Scannell and Andrew Conway both make a return to provincial action with Scannell joining Saili at centre and Conway named at full-back.

The final alteration sees Academy player Stephen Fitzgerald on the right wing with Gerhard van den Heever holding onto the number 11 jersey for his third consecutive start.

The Munster family connections are as strong as ever with two sets of brothers named in the matchday squad – Rory and Niall Scannell from Cork, and Bill and David Johnston from Tipperary.

Make sure to come along and get behind the Munster team for their return to Cork – Full ticket and match-day information can be found here. The game will not be televised and tickets can be purchased on the night.

MUNSTER (v London Irish): Andrew Conway; Stephen Fitzgerald, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Gerhard van den Heever; Bill Johnston, Cathal Sheridan; John Ryan, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer, John Madigan, Dave Foley, Dave O’Callaghan, Jordan Coghlan, CJ Stander (capt).

Replacements (from): Niall Scannell, James Cronin, BJ Botha, Donncha O’Callaghan, Robin Copeland, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Shane Monahan, Shane Buckley, Matt D’Arcy, David Johnston.