Jump to main content


Munster Confirm Departing Players Ahead Of Next Season

Munster Confirm Departing Players Ahead Of Next Season

Following on from yesterday’s news confirming the departure of Paul O’Connell, Munster Rugby have today announced that a total of eleven players are departing the province.

In previously announcing the movements of JJ Hanrahan, Paddy Butler, Alan Cotter and Sean Dougall, the following players have also completed their time with Munster – Ivan Dineen, Martin Kelly, Johne Murphy, Barry O’Mahony and Andrew Smith.

In addition to the above players, former Ireland international Damien Varley confirmed his retirement from rugby earlier this season.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Commenting on the departures, Munster Rugby CEO Garrett Fitzgerald said: “We would like to thank all of the players for their commitment and service to Munster Rugby. We wish them every success in the future as they advance to the next stage of their careers on and off the field.”

For next season the province’s confirmed incoming players include Tomás O’Leary and Francis Saili, with Jordan Coghlan, Jack O’Donoghue, Darren Sweetnam and Peter McCabe all joining on development contracts. McCabe, a Dolphin RFC prop, is the latest player to sign with the Munstermen.

The Munster squad recently gathered for their informal end of season lunch where the departing players were honoured on the day with a screening of career highlights, presentations and words of thanks and best wishes from nominated colleagues.