Jump to main content


Munster Milestone For Flanker O’Donnell

Munster Milestone For Flanker O’Donnell

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has named his team for Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO12 encounter with Benetton Treviso at Irish Independent Park (kick-off 3.05pm).

Donnacha Ryan is set to make his first start since returning from injury and Tommy O’Donnell will win his 100th cap for the province when Munster resume their PRO12 campaign in Cork.

Anthony Foley has made just three changes to the side that defeated Edinburgh at BT Murrayfield almost a fortnight ago. Stephen Archer comes in to start in the front row alongside Dave Kilcoyne and Duncan Casey, with Ryan partnering Munster Player of the Year nominee Billy Holland in the second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Since his return from a foot injury last month, Ryan has featured twice from the bench in the
PRO12 and completed his first 80 minutes of rugby when lining out for Munster ‘A’ against Ulster Ravens last week.

Once again, captain Peter O’Mahony joins O’Donnell and CJ Stander in the back row. The Tipperary native, who becomes Munster’s latest centurion, and Stander are also in the running for the Munster Player of the Year honour.

The inclusion of Academy Player of the Year nominee Rory Scannell is the final change to the starting line-up. The selected back-tline sees Conor Murray and Ian Keatley continue at half-back, Scannell joins Andrew Smith in the centre and Simon Zebo, Keith Earls and full-back Felix Jones form the back-three once more.

Tickets from just €;15 for adults and €;30 for families (2 adults & 2 kids) can be purchased online here, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, or by calling 0818 719 300.

MUNSTER (v Benetton Treviso): Felix Jones; Keith Earls, Andrew Smith, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Duncan Casey, Stephen Archer, Billy Holland, Donnacha Ryan, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Eusebio Guinazu, John Ryan, BJ Botha, Donncha O’Callaghan, Dave O’Callaghan, Duncan Williams, JJ Hanrahan, Ronan O’Mahony.