Jump to main content


Henshaw Returns For Connacht’s Quarter-Final Clash

Henshaw Returns For Connacht’s Quarter-Final Clash

Head coach Pat Lam has made four personnel changes to his Connacht side for Friday’s European Challenge Cup quarter-final against Gloucester at Kingsholm (kick-off 7.45pm).

Ireland international and RBS 6 Nations winner Robbie Henshaw returns to the fray and is named at inside centre in a partnership with Danie Poolman, one of the Challenge Cup’s top try scorers this season with four touchdowns.

Tiernan O’Halloran shifts to the right wing to facilitate Mils Muliaina who is reinstated at full-back after missing out last week with injury.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Up front, South African Quinn Roux is named in the second row alongside Aly Muldowney. There is also a reshuffle in the back row as Galway man Andrew Browne, whose new deal for next season was announced this week, starts at blindside flanker. Captain John Muldoon (pictured below) will wear the number 8 jersey in what will be his sixth Challenge Cup quarter-final.

Replacements JP Cooney, James Connolly and Ian Porter have all been called into the matchday squad while Craig Ronaldson has recovered from the illness that ruled him out late of last week’s game against Munster to take his place on the bench.

Commenting on the team selection and Friday’s opponents Gloucester, Pat Lam said: “Playing a quarter-final in any competition is massive and to be involved in knockout rugby at this stage of the season is what everyone wants.

“There’s no doubt that going into the cauldron that is Kingsholm is a challenge for any team. Top seeds Gloucester are a side with quality internationals and a lot of experience.

“But we have worked hard to get here and with a home semi-final up for grabs, we’re looking forward to facing that challenge head on as a team.”

CONNACHT (v Gloucester): Mils Muliaina; Tiernan O’Halloran, Danie Poolman, Robbie Henshaw, Matt Healy; Jack Carty, Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, Tom McCartney, Rodney Ah You, Quinn Roux, Aly Muldowney, Andrew Browne, Eoghan Masterson, John Muldoon (capt).

Replacements: Shane Delahunt, JP Cooney, Finlay Bealham, Michael Kearney, James Connolly, Ian Porter, Craig Ronaldson, Darragh Leader.