Jump to main content


Selected Leinster Team Shows Seven Changes

Selected Leinster Team Shows Seven Changes

After the Captain’s Run this morning, Leinster head coach Matt O’Connor has announced the team to face Glasgow Warriors in Friday’s GUINNESS PRO12 clash at the RDS (kick-off 7.35pm).

There are seven changes to the Leinster side that played the Scarlets last time out, with two of those changes in the backs and a further five in the forwards.

Ian Madigan, Eoin Reddan, Martin Moore, Jordi Murphy, Sean Cronin, Cian Healy and Luke Fitzgerald are all included in the matchday 23 having featured in Ireland’s dramatic RBS 6 Nations win over Scotland last Saturday.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Zane Kirchner makes his 40th appearance in Leinster colours at full-back with Fergus McFadden selected on the right wing. Dave Kearney, who came off the bench in Llanelli, starts on the left wing.

Madigan slots in at inside centre with Ben Te’o outside him in the number 13 jersey having scored his first try for Leinster in the previous round.

Michael Bent and Richardt Strauss start at loosehead prop and hooker respectively, while Moore returns from international duty at tighthead.

Tom Denton and Mike McCarthy will lock down behind the front row, with Murphy, Shane Jennings and Jack Conan (pictured above), who is set for his 12th start of the season, combining in the back row. Jennings will captain the side in his 205th game for Leinster.

Healy and Fitzgerald, who both started against Scotland, are listed among the replacements, while hooker Cronin, who played the last 20 minutes at Murrayfield, is also on the bench. Cronin will win his 90th cap for Leinster should he be brought on.

Click here for Leinster v Glasgow Warriors ticket information. Tickets for Friday’s crunch game are still on sale at www.leinsterrugby.ie/tickets.

LEINSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Zane Kirchner; Fergus McFadden, Ben Te’o, Ian Madigan, Dave Kearney; Jimmy Gopperth, Eoin Reddan; Michael Bent, Richardt Strauss, Martin Moore, Tom Denton, Mike McCarthy, Jordi Murphy, Shane Jennings (capt), Jack Conan.

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Cian Healy, Tadhg Furlong, Ben Marshall, Dominic Ryan, Isaac Boss, Gordon D’Arcy, Luke Fitzgerald.