Jump to main content


Jackson And Olding Return To Ulster Team

Jackson And Olding Return To Ulster Team

Ireland internationals Paddy Jackson and Stuart Olding have been named in the Ulster team to play Cardiff Blues at Kingspan Stadium on Friday (kick-off 7.35pm).

Paddy Jackson and Stuart Olding suffered elbow injuries against Toulon in January and have recovered in time to be available for Ulster’s GUINNESS PRO12 run-in.

The pair are the only changes to the starting side that lost to the Newport Gwent Dragons at Rodney Parade three weeks ago. Jackson is named at out-half with Olding picked alongside him at inside centre.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Iain Henderson, who was part of Ireland’s RBS 6 Nations triumph last weekend, starts at blindside flanker against the Welsh region.

Callum Black, Rob Herring and Wiehahn Herbst are all named in an unchanged front row. Franco van der Merwe and Dan Tuohy continue in the second row, with Clive Ross and Nick Williams joining Henderson in the back row.

Ruan Pienaar, who passed the 500-point mark in the PRO12 against the Dragons, starts at scrum half, with Darren Cave, who continues as the province’s captain, selected at outside centre alongside Olding (pictured above).

Michael Allen is picked on the left wing, with the PRO12’s leading try scorer Craig Gilroy lining out once more on the right and Louis Ludik featuring at full-back. Back rower Roger Wilson was unavailable for selection due to personal reasons.

There are fewer than 1,000 tickets remaining for the round 18 fixture. Tickets for the game are still available and can be purchased here.

Fans will also be able to buy on the gate on Friday evening, although for the best available tickets, supporters are encouraged to purchase in advance. The match will be shown live on BBC 2 Northern Ireland.

ULSTER (v Cardiff Blues): Louis Ludik; Craig Gilroy, Darren Cave (capt), Stuart Olding, Michael Allen; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Callum Black, Rob Herring, Wiehahn Herbst, Dan Tuohy, Franco van der Merwe, Iain Henderson, Clive Ross, Nick Williams.

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Bronson Ross, Robbie Diack, AN Other, Paul Marshall, Ian Humphreys, Rory Scholes.