Jump to main content


McSwiney And Ryan Pair Up In Munster ‘A’ Second Row

McSwiney And Ryan Pair Up In Munster ‘A’ Second Row

Munster ‘A’ head coach Mick O’Driscoll has named his team to face Ulster Ravens in Thursday’s ‘A’ interprovincial at Nenagh Ormond RFC (kick-off 4.30pm). Admission is free at New Ormond Park.

With the current break in GUINNESS PRO12 action, Mick O’Driscoll is able to call on the services of 12 senior representatives alongside emerging talents from both the Munster Rugby Academy and the club game.

Dolphin loosehead Peter McCabe joins Kevin O’Byrne and Stephen Archer in the front row, while Waterford native and current Lansdowne player Joe McSwiney partners the returning Donnacha Ryan in the second row. The game marks Ryan’s second outing since rehabbing a foot injury that kept him out of competitive action for almost a year.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

An all-senior back row sees Shane Buckley, Sean Dougall and Paddy Butler line out at blindside flanker, openside and number 8 respectively.

Garryowen scrum half Neil Cronin teams up with Academy out-half and captain Rory Scannell at half-back, while Ivan Dineen brings a wealth of experience to the midfield, lining out alongside Academy centre Dan Goggin.

An all-senior back-three sees wingers Luke O’Dea and Andrew Conway joined by returning full-back Johne Murphy. Murphy has not featured for the province since sustaining a broken bone in his hand during training in January.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Ulster Ravens): Johne Murphy; Andrew Conway, Dan Goggin, Ivan Dineen, Luke O’Dea; Rory Scannell (capt), Neil Cronin; Peter McCabe, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer, Joe McSwiney, Donnacha Ryan, Shane Buckley, Sean Dougall, Paddy Butler.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Liam O’Connor (Cork Constitution), John Ryan, Frank Bradshaw Ryan (Shannon), Ben Kilkenny (Young Munster), Jamie Glynn (Academy), Dave Johnston (Academy), Diarmaid McCarthy (Young Munster), Darren Sweetnam (Academy).