Jump to main content


Humphreys To Win 100th Cap With Ulster

Humphreys To Win 100th Cap With Ulster

Ian Humphreys is set to make his 100th Ulster appearance after being named in the team for Friday’s sold-out GUINNESS PRO12 clash with the Scarlets at Kingspan Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm)

In one of three changes to the starting team, Ireland international Dan Tuohy has returned from injury to take his place in the second row, while new signing Mike Stanley could make his debut after being named among the replacements.

The sole change in the back-line sees Luke Marshall replace the suspended Stuart McCloskey at inside centre. Marshall links up with Darren Cave in midfield, while Ian Humphreys and Ruan Pienaar will orchestrate things from half-back. Elsewhere, Louis Ludik, Craig Gilroy and Michael Allen make up the back-three.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Callum Black, Rob Herring and Wiehahn Herbst are retained in an unchanged front row and Franco van der Merwe will partner Tuohy in the engine room.

Roger Wilson will again captain the side from blindside flanker, with Nick Williams continuing at the base of the scrum and Clive Ross taking over from Mike McComish in the number 7 jersey. Tim Boys picked up a toe injury in training and is unavailable for selection.

Ballymena duo John Andrew and Andrew Warwick provide front row cover along with Bronson Ross, and Lewis Stevenson and McComish are listed as the other forward replacements. Paul Marshall, Stanley and Rory Scholes, who returns to the Ulster squad having recovered from injury, complete the matchday 23.

The Scarlets fixture on Friday is sold out but tickets for Ulster’s upcoming home games against Cardiff Blues and Leinster are available through Ticketmaster.

ULSTER (v Scarlets): Louis Ludik; Craig Gilroy, Darren Cave, Luke Marshall, Michael Allen; Ian Humphreys, Ruan Pienaar; Callum Black, Rob Herring, Wiehahn Herbst, Dan Tuohy, Franco van der Merwe, Roger Wilson (capt), Clive Ross, Nick Williams.

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Bronson Ross, Lewis Stevenson, Mike McComish, Paul Marshall, Mike Stanley, Rory Scholes.