Jump to main content


Prop Ross Included For Ulster’s Toulon Test

Prop Ross Included For Ulster’s Toulon Test

Darren Cave will play his 150th game for Ulster on Saturday as the province take on Toulon in the European Champions Cup at the Stade Félix Mayol (kick-off 4.15pm local time/3.15pm Irish time).

The selected Ulster team sees seven changes and two positional switches to the side that beat Benetton Treviso in Italy last Sunday. Ireland international Jared Payne starts at full-back for the first time this season with Louis Ludik moving to the right wing in place of Tommy Bowe. 

Darren Cave is selected at outside centre for his 150th game for his home province and is partnered in midfield by fellow Ireland international Stuart Olding.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Michael Allen comes into the side on the left wing with Paddy Jackson and Springbok scrum half Ruan Pienaar paired together at half-back. 

There is a completely new front row with Andrew Warwick picked at loosehead prop, Rob Herring selected at hooker and Bronson Ross, who starts his first game for Ulster, named at tighthead in place of the injured Wiehahn Herbst.

Alan O’Connor continues in the second row where he is joined by Franco van der Merwe who returns to first team duty having been ill last week. 

In the back row, Clive Ross moves to openside flanker, Mike McComish (pictured above) is selected at blindside and captain Roger Wilson starts the round 5 fixture at number 8.

Forwards John Andrew, Callum Black, Declan Fitzpatrick, Lewis Stevenson and Robbie Diack join backs Paul Marshall, Ian Humphreys and Michael Heaney on the replacements bench.

Ulster’s next match is against Leicester Tigers at Kingspan Stadium on Saturday week (kick-off 5.30pm). Tickets for this game are still available and can be purchased online here.

ULSTER (v Toulon): Jared Payne; Louis Ludik, Darren Cave, Stuart Olding, Michael Allen; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Andrew Warwick, Rob Herring, Bronson Ross, Alan O’Connor, Franco van der Merwe, Clive Ross, Mike McComish, Roger Wilson (captain).

Replacements: John Andrew, Callum Black, Declan Fitzpatrick, Lewis Stevenson, Robbie Diack, Paul Marshall, Ian Humphreys, Michael Heaney.