Jump to main content


Ulster Make Two Changes For Treviso Trip

Ulster Make Two Changes For Treviso Trip

There are two changes to the Ulster team for Sunday afternoon’s GUINNESS PRO12 match against Benetton Treviso at the Stadio di Monigo (kick-off 3pm local time/2pm Irish time).

Louis Ludik, who was rested for the Leinster match, returns to the side at full-back with Peter Nelson moving to the replacements bench.

Franco van der Merwe misses his first game of the season as he has a chest infection, so Alan O’Connor starts the game in the second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ireland international Jared Payne has recovered from injury and is also named among the replacements.

Tommy Bowe, who sustained a dead leg against Leinster, is fit to face the Italian side and is joined by Ludik and Craig Gilroy in the back-three.

Darren Cave and Stuart Olding continue in midfield, while Paddy Jackson and Ruan Pienaar maintain their partnership in the half-backs.

Wiehahn Herbst and Callum Black start either side of captain Rory Best in the front row, while Dan Tuohy, who signed a new three-year contract with Ulster this week, links up with O’Connor in the second row.

The back row is unchanged from last week’s defeat in Dublin with Roger Wilson at number 8, Robbie Diack at blindside and Clive Ross selected at openside.

Forwards Rob Herring, Andrew Warwick, Bronson Ross, Lewis Stevenson and Sean Reidy join backs Paul Marshall, Payne and Nelson on the replacements bench for the BBC 2 Northern Ireland-televised encounter.

Ulster’s next home match is against Leicester Tigers in the European Champions Cup on Saturday, January 24. To purchase Ulster v Leicester tickets, please click here.

ULSTER (v Benetton Treviso): Louis Ludik; Tommy Bowe, Darren Cave, Stuart Olding, Craig Gilroy; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Callum Black, Rory Best, Wiehahn Herbst, Alan O’Connor, Dan Tuohy, Robbie Diack, Clive Ross, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Andrew Warwick, Bronson Ross, Lewis Stevenson, Sean Reidy, Paul Marshall, Jared Payne, Peter Nelson.