Jump to main content


McFadden And Madigan Pair Up In The Centre For Leinster

McFadden And Madigan Pair Up In The Centre For Leinster

Having completed the Captain’s Run this morning, Matt O’Connor has announced six changes to the Leinster team for Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO12 encounter with the Ospreys at the RDS (kick-off 5.15pm).

It is an even split with three changes in the backs and three in the pack, but significantly Fergus McFadden makes a welcome return having injured his ankle in the PRO12 derby against Munster on the October 4. He lines out at outside centre.

Inside him is Ian Madigan who had an impressive GUINNESS Series with Ireland and is only three points short of 600 points for Leinster in what will be his 116th provincial appearance since his debut in May 2009.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There is a change in the half-backs with Eoin Reddan coming in at scrum half and as captain, with Jimmy Gopperth continuing in the number 10 jersey.

Elsewhere, it is as you were with Zane Kirchner, Darragh Fanning and Dave Kearney in the back-three. Fanning scored two tries for Leinster against Benetton Treviso and is in line to win his 25th cap.

With Richardt Strauss and Kevin McLaughlin ruled out through injury, their replacements last weekend against Treviso start in their place for the round 9 tie. Bryan Byrne, who scored his first ever Leinster senior try within minutes of his introduction, starts at hooker with Dominic Ryan filling the blindside flanker berth.

The rest of the front row sees Michael Bent and Tadhg Furlong once again selected at loosehead and tighthead prop respectively, while in the second row Mike McCarthy has been selected alongside Kane Douglas.

Jordi Murphy makes his second appearance of the season having shown no ill-effects after his return from shoulder surgery, while Jack Conan continues at number 8.

Tickets for the game are still available at www.leinsterrugby.ie/tickets. Those who have already bought tickets can avail of a free seat upgrade by downloading the Leinster Rugby App and following the instructions.

LEINSTER (v Ospreys): Zane Kirchner; Darragh Fanning, Fergus McFadden, Ian Madigan, Dave Kearney; Jimmy Gopperth, Eoin Reddan (capt); Michael Bent, Bryan Byrne, Tadhg Furlong, Mike McCarthy, Kane Douglas, Dominic Ryan, Jordi Murphy, Jack Conan.

Replacements: James Tracy, Peter Dooley, Jamie Hagan, Tom Denton, Rhys Ruddock, Isaac Boss, Noel Reid, Gordon D’Arcy.