Jump to main content


Best To Lead Ulster In Limerick

Best To Lead Ulster In Limerick

Hooker Rory Best will start for Ulster against Munster in Friday night’s GUINNESS PRO12 interprovincial match at Thomond Park (kick-off 7.35pm).

Rory Best’s inclusion is one of four changes to the side that beat the Ospreys at Kingspan Stadium last Friday.

In the only change to the province’s back-line, Ian Humphreys starts at out-half in place of the injured Paddy Jackson.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Stuart Olding remains at full-back, with Louis Ludik on the right wing and Craig Gilroy on the left. Stuart McCloskey and Darren Cave continue their centre partnership with Paul Marshall starting at scrum half.

Callum Black and Wiehahn Herbst start either side of captain Best in the front row with Alan O’Connor coming into the second row alongside Franco van der Merwe.

In the back row, Nick Williams starts at number 8 with Roger Wilson switching across the back row to blindside flanker. Sean Reidy continues at openside.

Robbie Diack, who represented Ireland in the GUINNESS Series, is named on the bench, as is Michael Allen, who has recovered from the shoulder injury that he sustained playing for the Ravens.

Forwards Rob Herring, Andrew Warwick, Declan Fitzpatrick and Lewis Stevenson and backs Michael Heaney and Peter Nelson complete the matchday squad.

Meanwhile, more than 14,500 tickets have been sold for Ulster’s European Champions Cup match against the Scarlets in Belfast next Saturday. Tickets for the game can be purchased here.

ULSTER (v Munster): Stuart Olding; Louis Ludik, Darren Cave, Stuart McCloskey Craig Gilroy; Ian Humphreys, Paul Marshall; Callum Black, Rory Best (capt), Wiehahn Herbst, Alan O’Connor, Franco van der Merwe, Roger Wilson, Sean Reidy, Nick Williams.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Andrew Warwick, Declan Fitzpatrick, Lewis Stevenson, Robbie Diack, Michael Heaney, Michael Allen, Peter Nelson.