Jump to main content


Cave, Gilroy And Olding To Start For Ulster

Cave, Gilroy And Olding To Start For Ulster

Darren Cave, Craig Gilroy and Stuart Olding have all been released by Ireland and will start for Ulster against the Ospreys at Kingspan Stadium on Friday (kick-off 7.35pm).

All three played in Ireland’s six-try win over Georgia at the Aviva Stadium last weekend and return to Ulster to take on an Ospreys side unbeaten in the GUINNESS PRO12 and lying top of the table.

Stuart Olding starts at full-back with Craig Gilroy named on the left wing in the only change to the team that beat the Newport Gwent Dragons 23-6 at the start of the month. Louis Ludik, who starts on the right wing, completes the back-three.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Fresh from making his home debut for Ireland, Darren Cave partners Stuart McCloskey in the centre with Paul Marshall and Paddy Jackson continuing their half-back partnership.

Up front, Callum Black and Wiehahn Herbst start either side of Rob Herring in the front row, while Lewis Stevenson and Franco van der Merwe are paired together in the second row.

Stand-in captain Roger Wilson has recovered from a shoulder injury to start at number 8, with Sean Reidy selected at openside flanker and Clive Ross named at blindside.

Nick Williams has recovered from the knee injury that kept him out of the win over the Dragons and is in line to make his 50th appearance for Ulster if he is introduced off the bench.

Alan O’Connor is also selected among the replacements as are fellow forwards John Andrew, Andrew Warwick and Declan Fitzpatrick. Backs Michael Heaney, Ian Humphreys and Peter Nelson complete the matchday squad.

ULSTER (v Ospreys): Stuart Olding; Louis Ludik, Darren Cave, Stuart McCloskey, Craig Gilroy, Paddy Jackson, Paul Marshall; Callum Black, Rob Herring, Wiehahn Herbst, Lewis Stevenson, Franco van der Merwe, Clive Ross, Sean Reidy, Roger Wilson (capt).

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Declan Fitzpatrick, Alan O’Connor, Nick Williams, Michael Heaney, Ian Humphreys, Peter Nelson.