Jump to main content


O’Mahony Returns For Scarlets Clash

O’Mahony Returns For Scarlets Clash

As part of eight changes from last weekend’s starting line-up, Munster head coach Anthony Foley has promoted the returning Peter O’Mahony to the team to face the Scarlets at Thomond Park on Friday (kick-off 7.35pm).

An all-new front row sees David Kilcoyne and BJ Botha pack down on either side of Kevin O’Byrne as the 23-year-old UL Bohemians hooker makes his second PRO12 start.

David Foley retains his starting position in the second row alongside Billy Holland who comes in to make his fourth league start of the season.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Following a 16-minute appearance off the bench against Leinster, Peter O’Mahony returns to the starting line-up and will captain the province from blindside flanker. Tommy O’Donnell remains at openside with CJ Stander switching to number 8 for the round 6 encounter.

Munster’s man-of-the-match against Leinster, Conor Murray, will again start at scrum half with JJ Hanrahan donning the number 10 jersey in place of the benched Ian Keatley.

Ivan Dineen and Andrew Smith form the centre partnership once more, while Gerhard van den Heever comes in to join Simon Zebo and Felix Jones in a lively looking back-three.

The replacements see the inclusion of Argentinian hooker Eusebio Guinazu for the first time with Donncha O’Callaghan and Johne Murphy also returning to the matchday squad.

Tickets are available to buy online here and from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices in Thomond Park and Musgrave Park today and tomorrow from 10am.

Tickets can also be purchased from the Mobile Ticket Unit in the Fanzone Plaza on Friday from 2pm and from the West Stand Ticket booth from 5.30pm.

MUNSTER (v Scarlets): Felix Jones; Gerhard van den Heever, Andrew Smith, Ivan Dineen, Simon Zebo; JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray; David Kilcoyne, Kevin O’Byrne, BJ Botha, David Foley, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Eusebio Guinazu, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Donncha O’Callaghan, Robin Copeland, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Johne Murphy.