Jump to main content


Leinster Debutant Douglas Handed Starting Spot

Leinster Debutant Douglas Handed Starting Spot

Kane Douglas has been named to start his first match for Leinster against Cardiff Blues in the GUINNESS PRO12 at the RDS on Friday (kick-off 7.35pm).

Kane Douglas, the newly-arrived Australian lock, took part in training this week with his new team-mates and has been chosen to feature in the second row alongside Devin Toner.

Speaking earlier in the week, head coach Matt O’Connor said Douglas was ‘fresh’ and ‘really eager to get involved’, and the new signing will get his chance in front of the home supporters at the RDS.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The team to face Cardiff also sees Gordon D’Arcy named at outside centre for his first start of the season – he will combine with Ian Madigan in midfield.

Jamie Heaslip will captain the province again from the back row where he is joined by Rhys Ruddock and Dominic Ryan, the latter making his fourth successive start of the current campaign.

Martin Moore will make his seasonal bow in the front row, with Michael Bent and hooker Sean Cronin completing the starting pack.

The back-three that started last Friday’s interprovincial defeat to Connacht are retained, Darragh Fanning and Fergus McFadden taking their places on the wings and Rob Kearney will start at full-back. Jimmy Gopperth and Eoin Reddan also continue at half-back.

Tickets for the Leinster v Cardiff Blues match are still available, with over 14,500 now sold. Click here to buy your tickets now.

LEINSTER (v Cardiff Blues): Rob Kearney; Fergus McFadden, Gordon D’Arcy, Ian Madigan, Darragh Fanning; Jimmy Gopperth, Eoin Reddan; Michael Bent, Sean Cronin, Martin Moore, Devin Toner, Kane Douglas, Rhys Ruddock, Dominic Ryan, Jamie Heaslip (capt).

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Ed Byrne, Tadhg Furlong, Mike McCarthy, Jack Conan, Luke McGrath, Steve Crosbie, Mick McGrath.