Jump to main content


Henshaw And Marmion To Start For Connacht

Henshaw And Marmion To Start For Connacht

Ahead of Connacht’s GUINNESS PRO12 round 2 match against Edinburgh, head coach Pat Lam has made three personnel changes and one positional switch to the side that defeated the Dragons 16-11.

Ireland internationals Robbie Henshaw and Kieran Marmion both come into the starting line-up for the Friday night fixture at BT Murrayfield (kick-off 7.35pm).

There is a slight reshuffle to the young back-line – average age of 22.5 years – as Henshaw takes the number 13 shirt, shifting Darragh Leader to his preferred position of full-back.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ian Porter, who made his Connacht debut at the Sportsground last week, makes way for Marmion who partners Jack Carty at half-back.

Up front, Willie Faloon is the only change to the pack. He comes in at openside flanker alongside captain John Muldoon and Eoin McKeon, one of last week’s try scorers.

Aly Muldowney, Craig Ronaldson and Fionn Carr all come on to the bench for the round 2 game in the Scottish capital.

Commenting on the team selection and match preparations, Pat Lam said: “It’s great to have the experience of both Robbie and Kieran in the starting fifteen. They are both itching to get back into the Connacht shirt and are great additions to our already young and energetic back line.

“While it’s disappointing to be without Jake (Heenan) this week, we are fortunate that Willie can step straight into the number 7 shirt and do a great job.

“We were pleased with the outcome of last week’s game but we all knew we had a lot of work to do during the week to improve certain areas of our game that let us down.

“It’s been a quick turnaround for us, leaving on Thursday for Edinburgh, but we know we all have to be on the same page to nail the process that is needed to defeat a very strong Edinburgh team at home especially after their great win over Munster last week.”

CONNACHT (v Edinburgh): Darragh Leader; Niyi Adeolokun, Robbie Henshaw, David McSharry, Danie Poolman; Jack Carty, Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, David Heffernan, Nathan White, Michael Kearney, Quinn Roux, John Muldoon (capt), Willie Faloon, Eoin McKeon.

Replacements: Sean Henry, Finlay Bealham, Rodney Ah You, Aly Muldowney, George Naoupu, Ian Porter, Craig Ronaldson, Fionn Carr.