Jump to main content


Munster Include Three Debutants For Edinburgh Clash

Munster Include Three Debutants For Edinburgh Clash

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has named his team for the opening round of the GUINNESS PRO12 against Edinburgh at Thomond Park on Friday night (kick-off 7.35pm).

Ireland’s Simon Zebo will make his return to provincial action on Friday and he is joined by Emerging Ireland duo Andrew Conway and Ian Keatley in the starting line-up, while their touring colleagues, David Foley and Tommy O’Donnell, are named among the replacements.

Hooker Kevin O’Byrne, back rower Shane Buckley and centre Andrew Smith all start as they make their competitive debuts for Munster.

Anthony Foley has made six changes to the side that lined out against London Irish in Waterford last Friday, with BJ Botha returning to the front row and Buckley taking the place of Robin Copeland at number 8.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Johne Murphy, Smith and Ronan O’Mahony retain their places in the back-line but make positional switches with Smith and Murphy linking up in the centre and O’Mahony moving to full-back.

After sustaining a knee injury against London Irish, Cian Bohane underwent a scan during the week and has been ruled out of action for the immediate future. He will now meet with the specialist for further assessment.

Tickets are available for the Munster v Edinburgh game online here and from the Munster Rugby ticket offices in Musgrave Park and Thomond Park

Tickets will be on sale on Friday from the Mobile Ticket Office in the new Fan Zone Plaza from 9am. Please note that the North and South Terraces will remain closed for the game.

MUNSTER (v Edinburgh): Ronan O’Mahony; Andrew Conway, Johne Murphy, Andrew Smith, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; John Ryan, Kevin O’Byrne, BJ Botha, Donncha O’Callaghan (capt), Billy Holland, CJ Stander, Sean Dougall, Shane Buckley.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, Alan Cotter, Stephen Archer, David Foley, Tommy O’Donnell, Cathal Sheridan, Johnny Holland, Ivan Dineen.