Jump to main content


Olding To Make Long-Awaited Injury Comeback

Olding To Make Long-Awaited Injury Comeback

Stuart Olding will play his first game for Ulster in ten months after being selecting in the starting line-up to face Leinster at Tallaght Stadium on Saturday (kick-off 4pm).

Stuart Olding, the 21 year-old Ireland international, ruptured his anterior cruciate ligament while playing for Ulster Ravens in November last year. He is selected at inside centre for the Leinster game alongside Jared Payne, who will wear the number 13 jersey.

Louis Ludik, who scored a try on his Ulster debut last week, is named at full-back with Michael Allen and Craig Gilroy picked on the wings.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ian Humphreys and Paul Marshall, who both started last week’s game against Exeter Chiefs, continue their partnership at half-back.

Up front, Andrew Warwick will line out at loosehead prop with Rob Herring selected at hooker. New signing Wiehahn Herbst will make his full debut for Ulster on the tighthead side.

There is also a new combination in the second row with Ireland international Dan Tuohy partnered by Springbok Franco van der Merwe.

In the back row, Robbie Diack comes in on the blindside with Sean Reidy given the nod at openside flanker and number 8 Roger Wilson keeps the captaincy.

There are 20 replacements named with both sides expected to test new combinations ahead of next week’s start of the GUINNESS PRO12.

Ulster’s first home match of the PRO12 will be against Zebre on Friday, September 12 (kick-off 7.35pm). Tickets are on sale now and are available to buy here.

ULSTER (v Leinster): Louis Ludik; Michael Allen, Jared Payne, Stuart Olding, Craig Gilroy; Ian Humphreys, Paul Marshall; Andrew Warwick, Rob Herring, Wiehahn Herbst, Dan Tuohy, Franco van der Merwe, Robbie Diack, Sean Reidy, Roger Wilson (capt).

Replacements: Ruaidhri Murphy, John Andrew, Declan Fitzpatrick, Alan O’Connor, Neil McComb, Conor Joyce, Clive Ross, Nick Williams, Callum Black, Kyle McCall, Bronson Ross, Lewis Stevenson, Mike McComish, Michael Heaney, David Shanahan, Sean O’Hagan, Ross Adair, Jacob Stockdale, Rory Scholes, Ricky Andrew.