Jump to main content


Copeland To Make Munster Debut Against London Irish

Copeland To Make Munster Debut Against London Irish

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has rung the changes for Friday night’s SEAT Challenge against London Irish at the Waterford RSC (kick-off 7.30pm).

With senior players returning to the fold and additional players available for selection, Anthony Foley has made nine changes to the team that suffered a 45-8 defeat to Gloucester last weekend.

This week’s squad is bolstered by the return of four of Munster’s Emerging Ireland representatives – Billy Holland, Sean Dougall, Robin Copeland and Johne Murphy.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Both Copeland and Australian centre Andrew Smith will make their first appearances for the province on Friday night.

Stephen Archer features in his first matchday squad since sustaining a neck injury in March and he is joined by last weekend’s replacements, John Ryan and Kevin O’Byrne, in the all new front row.

In the second row Holland starts next to captain Donncha O’Callaghan as Sean McCarthy moves to the replacements, and with Copeland starting at number 8, CJ Stander switches to blindside flanker with Dougall completing the back row.

Scrum half Cathal Sheridan starts this week in place of Duncan Williams, while newcomer Smith and full-back Murphy, who captained Emerging Ireland in June, are also included in the back-line.

Cian Bohane moves to inside centre with Smith making his first start for Munster in the number 13 jersey. Darren Sweetnam and Ronan O’Mahony retain their places on the wings.

Duncan Casey makes a timely return from his shoulder rehabilitation and is named on the extended list of replacements.

There are a limited number of tickets currently available to buy online here, from the Ticket Offices in Musgrave Park and Thomond Park, and from the Ticketmaster van outside the Cork Road entrance at the RSC on Friday – subject to availability.

MUNSTER (v London Irish): Johne Murphy; Ronan O’Mahony, Andrew Smith, Cian Bohane, Darren Sweetnam; Johnny Holland, Cathal Sheridan; John Ryan, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer, Donncha O’Callaghan (capt), Billy Holland, CJ Stander, Sean Dougall, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Ger Slattery, Duncan Casey, Alan Cotter, BJ Botha, Sean McCarthy, John Madigan, Shane Buckley, Barry O’Mahony, Duncan Williams, David Johnston, Ivan Dineen, Rory Scannell.