Jump to main content


Gopperth To Lead Leinster Against Saints

Gopperth To Lead Leinster Against Saints

The Leinster team to face Northampton Saints in Saturday’s pre-season friendly at Franklin’s Gardens (kick-off 2.30pm) has been named.

In the province’s first pre-season game, head coach Matt O’Connor has given youth a chance with a number of Academy players in the starting line-up and more on the bench.

However, Leinster will be guided by the experienced half-back pairing of Isaac Boss and Jimmy Gopperth, with Gopperth captaining the side from the out-half position.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The 19-year-old Billy Dardis, one of those from the Leinster Academy, starts at full-back with Darragh Fanning and Sam Coghlan Murray on the right and left wing respectively.

Another member of the Academy, Jordan Coghlan, makes a welcome return from injury to start at inside centre with Brendan Macken lining up outside him.

In the pack three Academy players have been selected with Bryan Byrne starting at hooker and Josh van der Flier and Dan Leavy in the back row.

Elsewhere Michael Bent and Tadhg Furlong complete the front row with Ben Marshall and Tom Denton in the second row, while Emerging Ireland’s IRB Nations Cup-winning captain Dominic Ryan starts at number 8.

New signing Sean McCarthy is amongst 13 players selected on the bench and available to O’Connor against the reigning European Challenge Cup and English Premiership champions.

Leinster play Ulster in their next pre-season fixture on Saturday week at Tallaght Stadium with tickets still on sale at www.leinsterrugby.ie/tickets.

Updates from the Northampton Saints game will be available on the Leinster Rugby Twitter account throughout the day.

LEINSTER (v Northampton Saints): Billy Dardis; Darragh Fanning, Brendan Macken, Jordan Coghlan, Sam Coghlan Murray; Jimmy Gopperth (capt), Isaac Boss; Michael Bent, Bryan Byrne, Tadhg Furlong, Ben Marshall, Tom Denton, Josh van der Flier, Dan Leavy, Dominic Ryan.

Replacements: Tyrone Moran, Sean McCarthy, Ed Byrne, Gavin Thornbury, Jonathan Slattery, Luke McGrath, Cathal Marsh, Adam Byrne, Nick McCarthy, Stevie Crosbie, Rory O’Loughlin, Michael McGrath, Cian Kelleher.