Jump to main content


Leinster ‘A’ Team Named For British & Irish Cup Final

Leinster ‘A’ Team Named For British & Irish Cup Final

The Leinster ‘A’ team has been announced for Friday night’s British & Irish Cup final against Leeds Carnegie at Donnybrook (kick-off 7pm).

Head coach Girvan Dempsey has made some positional and personnel changes to the side that overcame Pontypridd away at the semi-final stage.

Darragh Fanning will start on the left wing against Leeds Carnegie, returning to play for Leinster ‘A’ for the first time since the pool win over Moseley at Donnybrook back in January.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Brendan Macken moves to outside centre with Noel Reid alongside him in midfield, which means Collie O’Shea drops back to the replacements.

In the front row, prop Jack O’Connell comes in to start in place of Ed Byrne, who is named on the bench. Ben Marshall will play in the second row alongside Quinn Roux, which means Leo Auva’a comes in to start in the back row, flanked by Jack Conan and captain Dominic Ryan.

Tickets for the match are on sale online here, or can be purchased at the gate on the night – Adult Terrace/Stand – €;15/€;20; Under-18s Terrace/Stand – €;5/€;10; Family Terrace/Stand – €;35/€;50.

The final will be broadcast live on Setanta Ireland on Friday night (coverage begins at 6.55pm), with a live stream also available on www.rfu.com.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Leeds Carnegie): Darren Hudson; Sam Coghlan Murray, Brendan Macken, Noel Reid, Darragh Fanning; Cathal Marsh, Luke McGrath; Jack O’Connell, James Tracy, Tadhg Furlong, Ben Marshall, Quinn Roux, Jack Conan, Dominic Ryan (capt), Leo Auva’a.

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Ed Byrne, Ross Molony, Josh van der Flier, John Cooney, Collie O’Shea, Andrew Boyle.